Day 2 of Writing 101: Commit to a Writing Practice

Today’s prompt is quite fitting, darlings:

Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

Today, try free writing. To begin, empty your mind onto the page. Don’t censor yourself; don’t think. Just let go. Let the emotions or memories connected to your three songs carry you.

Today’s twist: You’ll commit to a writing practice. The frequency and the amount of time you choose to spend today — and moving forward — are up to you, but we recommend a minimum of fifteen uninterrupted minutes per day.

Bohemian Rhapsody

Some of us need more than a symphony. More than a rock song. More than a ballad. Heck, we need them all…at once. We need a song that does what they say cannot be done, a song that keeps on into the wee hours, plays beyond the cessation of every other song we are used to hearing.

Some of us need the Rock God Opera. It’s the only way we become rock gods ourselves.

If a song is right, if it is true, we will listen. No matter what critics say. No matter what’s considered the norm. We will listen and interpret and reinterpret that song as many times as we feel like it.

The critics are oft wrong.

Such is life: the struggles, grief and trials. Our shamefulness. Our joy. All the moments terrifying and strange mixed up with all those moments rapturous and exciting.

Anyway the wind blows…

How does one see his-/herself truly, without blinders, and grasp the right combination of reality and fantasy? Can life be like our favorite songs? Perhaps our favorite songs echo our lives and that’s why we’ve chosen them.

Don’t Stop Me Now

When the light has faded and everyone’s gone home, there’s a chill in the air and, at times, it’s difficult not to wonder what’s the point. But, just listen.

I’m a shooting star leaping through the sky

Like a tiger defying the laws of gravity…

Music has me by the throat, so the best way for me to be successful in everything, from day-to-day, is to listen to what speaks clearly to my heart, or soul–if you will. I’m not one to deny that a song may influence my work in a wealth of ways. Music spurs thoughts and creates a backdrop, a sort of ballet dance, that fuels creation. A song takes me high or brings me low.

I have no trouble getting low on my own, thank you. I’ll stick to what I love, what makes me feel good and causes me to reflect.

Don’t Try So Hard

When your problems seem like mountains

You feel the need to find some answers

You can leave them for another day

Don’t try so hard

Some tasks cannot be avoided. I set out to conquer these with a smile on my face, albeit the occasional grumble resulting from stiffness in my bones.

But I have often asked myself if there’s a point in which pursuing something becomes a lost cause and I have found the answer to be “Yes!”

Many of life’s problems are not my problems, but worries I have taken upon myself. They do not belong to me and I needn’t feel guilty about dismissing them. I cannot fix what is not mine. I can grieve a bit, recognize there’s nothing I can do and move on.

Time waits for no one.

Leave a Reply

