Happy Birthday, Freddie Mercury!

DSCN1027
A rose from my side yard, planted by the previous, long-term owners. This rose is very much like that called the “Freddie Mercury rose”. Freddie loved roses. This rosebush came with my house, purchased over ten years ago, which preceded my awareness of who Freddie Mercury was.

‘There are times when I wake up in the morning and I think, “My God, I wish I wasn’t Freddie Mercury today!” I’m in the public eye whether I like it or not, but I don’t want everything I do to be made public. I’m a virgo, I’m like Greta Garbo, I want to be left alone. I am a bit reclusive but it’s not a calculated thing. I like to be alone and shut myself off with my friends, but I’d hate to be on a deserted island. I would loathe that. I do like people around me but I like them in my environment. I’ve got all my friends that come to me and maybe it’s a very selfish thing to do, but it’s a wonderful treat for me.’ — Freddie Mercury, b. September 5, 1946 – d. November 24, 1991.

Leave a Reply

